News Everyday

Nambooze Bows Down to Pressure – Signs Censure Motion


Mukono Municipality Member of Parliament, Betty Nambooze Bakireke has bowed down to the pressure mounted by the National Unity Platform (NUP) supporters who gave Greater Mukono legislators subscribing to their party an ultimatum of 24 hours to sign the censure motion or face the wrath of their electorate.
Nambooze has today signed the censure motion, giving an excuse about the delay to the fact that she has been looking for the lead MP gathering the signatures, Theodore Ssekikubo from Wednesday but in vain.
“It’s not about bowing down to pressure, I took a side from the start of this issue. But I did not want to rush appending my signature on the motion and again come out to say that I was dupped to do so, as one of our colleagues alleged,” Nambooze said.
On Thursday, a number of NUP supporters hailing from the Greater Mukono region led by Mukono NUP secretary general showed dismay saying that despite the fact that the party President Robert Kyagulanyi Ssentamu had instructed the MPs to sign the censure motion, legislators including those from Mukono were shying away.
Luboloogi said that the intention of the censure motion is only to deter the affected commissioners from corruption and also act as a lesson to the rest of the MPs who had positioned themselves as commodities to be bought at the expense of their voters who are in villages suffering without a number of social services and alarming taxes.
The censure motion, spearheaded by the Lwemiyaga County Member of Parliament Theodore Ssekikubo targets the four Parliamentary commissioners who received what they termed as service award.
Among the affected parliamentary commissioners is the Nyendo-Mukungwe legislator Mathias Mpuuga who is said to have received sh500m, while the other commissioners reportedly received sh400m. Other commissioners include; Esther Afoyochan (Zombo DWR), Prossy Akampulira (Rubanda DWR), and Solomon Silwany (Bukooli Central).
“We take this great opportunity to inform all our beloved members of parliament from Greater Mukono (Mukono, Kayunga, Buikwe and Buvuma districts) that as the NUP members we take serious the stand of the party to have the affected parliamentary commissioners censured, unfortunately, we are worried as we wait to see you sign the impeachment motion but in vain,” reads part of the document which the supporters released on Thursday.
“It’s upon that background that we call on you to please act as we have already given you backup as your electorate. We hope to have this done in 24 hours starting with today, failure to comply, we shall be compelled to act accordingly,” the NUP supporters said.
Kyaggwe TV has learnt that only two NUP legislators hailing from Greater Mukono had already appended their signatures on the censure motion by Thursday. They include Hanifah Nabukeera Luswata, the Mukono district Woman Member of Parliament and Abdallah Kiwanuka Mulimamayuuni representing Mukono North Constituency.
The NUP MPs who were still relaxed upon signing the censure motion included; Betty Nambooze Bakireke who has sealed the deal today. Others remaining are; Fred Ssimbwa (Nakifuma County), Patrick Nsanja (Ntenjeru South-Kayunga district), Charles Tebandeke (Bbaale County-Kayunga district), Jimmy Lwanga (Njeru Municipality), among others.

Let others know by sharing

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.